Tags

, , , , ,

Laphroaig Quarter Cask was the first peaty whisky that I tried and it

was something that I purchased out of the blue at LCBO. It’ a young Laphroaig single malt whose maturation has been speeded up by aging in Quarter Casks and bottled at 48% ABV.

I had it quite a long time ago and back then I took more casual notes when drinking whisky. Obviously it was very peaty/smoky and it reminded me most of being around a campfire. As soon as the bottle was opened at any time (not just upon initial opening), the aromas travelled throughout the room, must to my wife’s chagrin. The aromas just lured you to the bottle, much like the smell of burning wood at a campfire. Coastal sea aromas were present as well, but that’s all I can remember until I have it again.

I found it relatively smooth but not as smooth as Lagavulin 16 and I found it packed a greater punch as well. Just a bit more rough around the edges and not as refined as Lagavulin 16 but was still fairly enjoyable. I don’t remember adding water or not but it was very drinkable on its own.

Purchased: 2010
Opened: 2010
Finished: 2011

WWC Recommendation: Recommended, but not for everyone!