Tags

, , , , ,

I tried Glenlivet 12 at a social gathering and unfortunately I don’t have too much to say. It’s a single malt bottled at 40% ABV and aged for a minimum of 12 years. I don’t have much of an impression of it from my quick experience. I thought alcohol burn was pretty strong on the aroma. Smelled fresh with oak/woody and floral influences. The taste also had a fair amount of burn but once it diminished the finish was quite nice. Adding water made it smoother but that’s not saying much.

It’s very popular due to the price point and like Johnnie Walker Black Label, I’m not against having it at my house for guests that don’t care much for whisky.

Tried dram on: August 2012

WWC Recommendation: Recommended for what it is and based on cost (under $50 at LCBO). I would personally opt for for a Canadian whisky/bourbon or something I haven’t tried before before this, though.